A New Beginning

Wow…it has been a long time. Welcome back to Always Split the Party! I am, back from the dead, your GM Jim. Since my last post, I have finished a campaign, taken a break, and started a new one in a new world, with (some) new players! Crazy, right? I know!

The last campaign ended with a bang. One character dead (by his choice: he decided to sacrifice his life for his teammates’), and an ancient god awakened and let loose upon the world. We had to break for summer, since my players all attend a nearby college, and with summer break, two have gone home. One of them, the player for Andariel (see my first post), graduated, and so will not be returning in the fall. We might continue when the other player returns for fall classes, we might not.

I have since started a new group, with two of my old players (Matt, who played Ahkmet, and Tim, who played Chiron), and two new ones: Ed and Aaron. The new group has already finished their first adventure (which took about five sessions) and are level three. We ran through The Sunless Citadel (or, rather, an updated version for 5E). I have had that module since it was first released, but had never made it all the way through with a group until now. It’s a strange feeling!

I’ll give you a summary of the adventure soon. But in the meantime, I’d like to introduce you to my new campaign world. I’m calling it Nyrondie (The Ny rhymes with tie, so Nie-Ron-Dee). I have a Wiki: http://the-world-of-nyrondie.wikia.com/wiki/The_World_of_Nyrondie_Wikia. It’s all very official (not at all), and completely finished (nope). Look through it if you have some time and want to see a world plundered from nearly everywhere else.

I’ll be going into the details of both my adventures, and the world later. For now, I just recommend to all of you that, if you are running a game, and have a bit a free time (haha), then you should consider making a wiki. Don’t write three thousand words a page for it, but just give it some detail and time, and your players will really enjoy it. It allows them to feel like they are part of a living world, one of the advantages of running an established setting, like Greyhawk, Eberron, or the Forgotten Realms.

Also, I have opened up the wiki to my own players, letting them add certain elements (with my supervision) so that they can help contribute to the structure of the world. Only one of my players has taken me up on that so far, but he really enjoyed being a part of the creation process. Plus, it’s great having another person’s input.

Anyway, I hope you have all been having an excellent summer! Let me know if you like the idea of a wiki, or you think they are just a waste of time. Just do it nicely. 🙂

Have fun! And, as remember:

Always Split the Party!

delving into the great sunken city

3 thoughts on “A New Beginning

  1. A wiki (or similar) is almost a necessity for anyone serious about building a world, and there’s little excuse to not have one these days. I’ve got one at Obsidian Portal, I’ve seen a few on wikia, and even self-hosted websites. We are living in the 21st century guys, start playing like it!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

